Community Council

Office Bearers 2017


Malcolm Spaven, Chair and Planning Representative

Malcom joined the MCC in 2014, and represents Gladhouse.



Kate Buxton, Secretary

In Feb 2012 Kate Buxton became a Community Councillor representing Borthwick where she has lived for the past 8 years.  After some years at home looking after her family, Kate returned to teaching English in a local secondary school until she retired to enjoy her many interests including gardening, walking and singing in a choir.


Rosie Newlands, Treasurer

Rosie took on the Treasurer role in 2014 and represents Carrington.


Lorna Crooke, Minute Secretary

Lorna took on the Minute Secretary role in 2016, having joined the community council in 2014 representing Harvieston and Bellsmains.


Community Councillors


Sue Mitchell

Sue joined the community council in 2010 representing Carrington. Sue held roles previously as Treasurer (2012-14) and Chair (2014-7).


Mary Reid

Mary joined the community council in 2017.


Emma Softley

Emma joined the community council in 2017 representing Middleton.



The Community Council has a few vacancies and would love to hear from you if you are interested in getting involved. Please do get in touch by emailing and come to one of our monthly meetings.  Please see the calendar page or the sidebar with upcoming events (top right of page) for information on location. Meetings are first Wed of the month except January and July.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s